general doubts about string translations from WPML plugin

Home Forums Legacy Support Support queries Translation issues general doubts about string translations from WPML plugin

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Hetikus
    Participant
    Hi! I'm pretty new to the theme and still trying to figure out some things: I hope you guys can provide some guidance. I'm setting my page in english and spanish. I have a full WPML account, and I downloaded and installed the WPML main plugin, among with the WPLMS_WPML plugin and some other WPML related plugins, such as WPML media, WPML translations and WPML string translations.   For now, I'm just using the string translations module from WPML. I found that  some strings (I don't know exactly if they are from WPLMS, vibe or other plugins) where lacking a translation or had an incorrect translation. I just fixed it from the strings translations UI in the wordpress dashboard and it seems to work properly.   For now, it is working properly: text in the page translates as expected as I create/edit its string translations in the dashboard form. It just bother me that I need to provide a lot of basic strings which lack a translation. So I started investigating more about WPLMS translation, and to read this forum in deep, only to found that all threads and resources points to .po files and/or the loco translate plugin. So, my question is: Am I doing something deeply wrong by locating my theme to spanish using the WPML string translation module? Is there a strong reason to change to loco translate and start using .op files? According to this WPML thread the string translations module is a fine option, but I don't know if it plays well with WPLMS. I'm completely new to both wordpress development and WPLMS, so I'm sorry if I lack some basic understanding of how l10n works in this case. I also hope this thread can help someone else, since I found it difficult to find info regarding WPLMS and the string translation